The cricket body of Australia, ACB, has announced the playing eleven for the first test against England in the Ashes series.

According to a statement issued by Cricket Australia on Sunday, the new captain of Australia test cricket Pat Cummins confirmed the playing XI at the official launch of the Test series, as players huddled around the crystal replica trophy.

Cummins said it was a “tight one” between Head and Usman Khawaja to bat in the middle order, but Head’s position as the more recent Test representative for the Aussies gave him the edge over the 34-year-old Khawaja.

Australia’s selectors have kept the faith with the ‘Big Three’ combination of Pat Cummins, Mitchel Starc and Josh Hazlewood that has collected a combined 631 Test wickets.

Starc had been in doubt to hold his spot, especially with Jhye Richardson, who had taken 15 wickets in his past two Sheffield Shield matches – including eight at the Gabba last month – bowling with accuracy and searing pace.

The newly appointed captain said Starc and Hazlewood were likely to still take the new ball, with Cummins keeping himself in reserve for the first change.

Meanwhile, Australia head coach Justin Langer gave a strong endorsement of the incumbent pace trio’s preparation, despite the wet Brisbane weather in the lead-up.

He said that their preparation has been excellent. He added that we had some brilliant centre-wicket practice at Metricon Stadium, we always thought that their workloads coming from the World Cup and because we went so deep, that we might’ve had to work a bit harder on that, but they’ve been great.

Australia XI: Marcus Harris, David Warner, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins (c), Mitch Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood.

The first Ashes match will be played on 8th December 2021 at Brisbane Cricket Ground, Australia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.